Montreal Regional Finals

December 13, 2017


MADE WITH LOVE Montreal: the sacred fire for the art of cocktail!

A 9th successful edition of the most extravagant mixology competition in Canada


Montreal, December 13th, 2017 – Once again this year, Montreal highlighted the talent of the city’s best mixologists at MADE WITH LOVE™, the most extravagant mixology competition in Canada. This Monday, audacious Barchefs competed to offer not just the best, but the ultimate creation that would amaze the epicurean crowd that gathered on St-Laurent for the comeback of the event at the Société des art technologiques (SAT)

The regional finalists, who had been selected in the qualification round held in october at the Taverne Midway, competed for the titles of Public’s Choice and Judges’ Choice in an atmosphere that awakened the senses. The Barchefs doubled with ingenuity so as not to let down the crowd of more than 1000 cocktail lovers who showed their love and support to the local bartending scene.

Who was crowned the great winner? For this very special edition in MTL, MADE WITH LOVE™ is proud to announce that Antoine Vendette, representing  Baracca Rhumerie Montréal, won the Judges’ Choice award with his Flor de Cana rum-based cocktail, while Isaac Bédard, independant competitor, won the Public’s Choice award with his Ungava Gin-based cocktail. Special mention to Isaac Bédard who is also the creator of the Educ’alcool mocktail called Sauge Décision (Clementine & sage based) which has been served to everybody the night of the event and was much appreciated by the guests.

Here are the official results of MADE WITH LOVE Montreal 2017:

Judges’ Choice:
1. Antoine Vendette – Barraca Rhumerie Montréal
2. Isaac Bédard – Independant
3. Sean Sargent – Kampai Garden

Public’s Choice:
1. Isaac Bédard – Independant
2. Sean Sargent – Kampai Garden
3. Julie Bélanger Cateysson – Ludger

Antoine Vendette winning cocktail recipe:

L’Oro Cristobal

Flor de Cana Gran Reserva 7 years old
Corn, coffee, smoked kaffir lime leaves syrup
Caffeinated citrus cordial
Wormwood bitter
1642 ginger soda

Garnish: Kaffir lime leaf and smoked coffee bean
Food pairing: Cacti ceviche, smoked plantain, roasted pepper & dehydrated corn


Isaac Bédard winning cocktail recipe

Three ways

Gin Ungava
Clementine and sage syrup
Lime juice
Egg white

Test tube:
Gin Ungava
Matcha syrup
Ginger syrup and Aloes
Lime juice
Coconut milk
Matcha powder

Garnish: Orange zest and sage leaf
Food pairing: Alcoholic sorbet with U Frost machine



Thank you to our precious sponsors :

1800 Tequila – Alambika – Campari Canada – CIRKA Distilleries – École du Bar de Montréal  – Educ’alcool  – Flor de Caña  – Service alimentaire Gordon Montréal – Grand Marnier Canada – Invasion Cocktail  – Maison Sivo – Monsieur Glace – Red Bull  – Tia Maria – Ungava Gin  – Woodford Reserve

Author: Enjoy Made With Love

A series of memorable events bringing you to a place of intense creativity and entertainment.

Finale Régionale à Montréal

13 décembre 2017

MADE WITH LOVE Montréal :  le feu sacré pour l’art du cocktail!

Une 9e édition réussie de la compétition de mixologie la plus extravagante au Canada

Montréal 13 décembre 2017 – Cette année encore, Montréal a souligné avec brio le talent des meilleurs Barchefs de la métropole à MADE WITH LOVE ™, la compétition de mixologie la plus extravagante au Canada. Ce lundi, les 20 audacieux finalistes ont concouru pour offrir la création cocktail ultime et ainsi émerveiller la foule épicurienne qui s’était réunie sur la rue St-Laurent, pour le retour de l’événement à la Société des arts technologiques (SAT).

Les finalistes régionaux, qui avaient été sélectionnés dans la ronde de qualification tenue en octobre à la Taverne Midway, ont concouru pour les titres de Choix du public et Choix des juges dans une atmosphère de fébrilité et de festivité. Les Barchefs et leur équipe ont doublé d’ingéniosité pour ne pas laisser tomber la foule de plus de 1000 amateurs de cocktails qui ont montré leur amour et leur soutien à la scène locale des cocktails artisanaux.

Qui a été couronné le grand gagnant? MADE WITH LOVE est fier d’annoncer qu’Antoine Vendette, qui représente le Barraca Rhumerie Montréal, s’est vu remporter le choix des juges avec son cocktail à base de rhum Flor de Cana, tandis que Isaac Bédard, compétiteur indépendant, a remporté le prix du public avec son cocktail à base de Gin Ungava. Mention spéciale à Isaac Bédard qui est aussi le créateur du mocktail d’Educ’alcool appelé Sauge Décision (à base de clémentine et de sauge) qui a été servi et apprécié par tous les invités.

Cette victoire bien méritée amènera ces deux Barchefs à affronter les meilleurs mixologues canadiens lors de la finale nationale MADE WITH LOVE ™ en mai 2018. Les deux finalistes tenteront de remporter le titre de meilleur Barchef au Canada, ainsi qu’un voyage avec l’une de nos distilleries partenaires.

Voici vos gagnants de l’édition 2017 de MADE WITH LOVE!

Choix des Juges:
1. Antoine Vendette – Barraca Rhumerie Montréal
2. Isaac Bédard – Indépendant
3. Sean Sargent – Kampai Garden

Choix du Public:
1. Isaac Bédard – Indépendant
2. Sean Sargent – Kampai Garden
3. Julie Bélanger Cateysson – Ludger

La recette gagnante du Choix des juges par Antoine Vendette

L’Oro Cristobal

Rhum Flor de Cana Gran Reserva 7 ans
Sirop de maïs, café & feuilles de lime kaffir fumé
Cordial d’agrumes caféiné
Amertume d’armoise
Soda 1642 au gingembre
Feuilles de lime kaffir et grain de café fumé

Accord nourriture : Ceviche au cactus, plantain fumé, poivron grillé & maïs déshydraté

La recette gagnante du Choix du public par Isaac Bédard

Three ways

Gin Ungava
Sirop de clémentine et sauge
Jus de lime
Blanc d’oeuf

Éprouvette:

Gin Ungava
Sirop de Matcha
Sirop de Gingembre et Aloes
Jus de Lime
Lait de Coco
Poudre de matcha
Zest d’orange et feuille de sauge

Accord nourriture : Sorbet alcoolisé à la machine UFrost

ENJOYMADEWITHLOVE.COM

Merci à nos précieux partenaires :

1800 Tequila – Alambika – Campari Canada – CIRKA Distilleries – École du Bar de Montréal  – Educ’alcool  – Flor de Caña  – Service alimentaire Gordon Montréal – Grand Marnier Canada – Invasion Cocktail  – Maison Sivo – Monsieur Glace – Red Bull  – Tia Maria – Ungava Gin  – Woodford Reserve

Author: Enjoy Made With Love

A series of memorable events bringing you to a place of intense creativity and entertainment.